Sunday, August 30, 2009

Chart Chat UK, August 30, 2009

Another week, another new number 1. David Guetta and Akon couldn't fend off the challenge from garage master Dizzee Rascal's new jam 'Holiday,' and find themselves relegated to the number 2 spot this week. Nothing else really is going on in the top ten, to be honest, save the appearance of Biffy Clyro's 'That Golden Rule' noisefest clocking in at number 10. 14 and 15 find a pair of tracks that certainly were hoping for better this week. First up is Lily Allen whose latest single '22' limps to 14 after a full release. After the top 5 successes of her last two tunes, Lily was probably hoping to extend her run, but either everyone who cares already bought the album (likely) or the song just isn't one of her best (also likely). Next we find Just Jack at 15 with 'The Day I Died.' In contrast to Lily's track, this one is quite a gem and it seems almost unfair that it looks unlikely to beat last week's peak of 11. Not quite the comeback the rapper/singer was hoping for, no doubt, but my guess is the album will fare much better. A side note at 31, Temper Trap clock in with their 2008 number 20 hit 'Sweet Disposition.' The song has been a staple in football adverts for a while now, and the song's use in ads for last week's V Festival seems to have pushed it back into the limelight. All bets are on this one falling off the face of the Earth next week, but another reminder of the importance of licensing in today's music industry.

The UK Top Ten:

1 - Dizzee Rascal: Holiday
2 - David Guetta ft Akon: Sexy Chick
3 - Black Eyed Peas: I Gotta Feeling
4 - Calvin Harris: Ready For The Weekend
5 - Tinchy Stryder ft Amelle: Never Leave You
6 - Little Boots: Remedy
7 - Beyonce: Sweet Dreams
8 - Esmee Denters: Outta Here
9 - Mr Hudson ft Kanye West: Supernova
10-Biffy Clyro: That Golden Rule

Dolly Rockers are Gold Digger(s)

...but they're one band that TOTALLY DESERVES your 79p. After months of hype and shopping their tutus around everything from Big Brother's Little Brother to the bingo hall down the road, the girls actually have a song out that the masses can actually buy. 'Gold Digger' is still brilliant and amazing and is going to save pop and perhaps humanity but we all already know that so let's just buy the damn thing and have some wine.

The single is OUT NOW on Parlophone

Alphabeat cast The Spell on us

Alphabeat always rubbed ScopiSat just a little the wrong way (delightful single 'Boyfriend' notwithstanding) but this new track just may change our minds. While everyone else is stuck doing 80's schtick (I'm looking at you, Ladyhawke), Alphabeat one-upped them all and decided to go 90's schtick. All it's missing is a Real McCoy-style rap in the middle eight and some repeat plays on 'Open House Party.'

The single is out soon, with album 'The Spell' to be released October 19 in the UK, both on the band's new label Polydor