Sunday, September 13, 2009

Chart Chat UK: September 13, 2009

A bunch of tracks storm the top ten this week, including a brand new number one. Pixie Lott flies right into the pole position with her new song 'Boys and Girls.' Much like her previous chart topper, 'Mama Do,' this track leaves ScopiSat cold but has been wildly embraced by the British record buying public. The songs just seem a bit 'lowest common denominator' to us, but what can you do. Jay-Z and Rihanna and Kanye are relegated to number 3, allowing David Guetta to slip back into the runner-up position. At 4 is our next new entry, with the comeback single from the polarizing Mika. 'We Are Golden' marks a return to form for the singer, after the rereleased 'Relax Take It Easy/Lollipop' single barely scratched the top 20. In fact, 'Golden' becomes his biggest hit since his breakthrough, 'Grace Kelly,' hit the top spot in 2007. The next new entry clocks in at number 7. Mini Viva have been touted and promoted for quite a while, and it looks like the whole thing paid off. 'I Left My Heart In Tokyo' starts the duo off with a solid top ten, but as ScopiSat reader John pointed out their challenge will be to overcome the 'novelty song' label. It's also interesting to contrast the girls' success with last week's new girl group, Dolly Rockers, who landed in the charts with a thud at 47. Why Mini Viva and not the Rockers? One word: Xenomania. After failing to put them in the top spot last week, listeners seem to be rejecting the Sugababes' new sound pretty conclusively. Down to 8 this week, 'Get Sexy' will be gone before we know it. Down one at 9 is the new Muse track, 'Uprising,' and marks the band's return to the top ten for the first time since 2006 but nobody really cares because their singles are really just ads for the album. The rest of the chart is pretty boring. Short version: Lots of Lady Gaga tracks and some old MOR crap lingering about.'s nice outside and ScopiSat needs some sun.

The UK Top Ten:

1 - Pixie Lott: Boys and Girls
2 - David Guetta ft Akon: Sexy Chick
3 - Jay Z ft Rihanna & Kanye West: Run This Town
4 - Mika: We Are Golden
5 - Black Eyed Peas: I Gotta Feeling
6 - Dizzee Rascal: Holiday
7 - Mini Viva: Left My Heart In Tokyo
8 - Sugababes: Get Sexy
9 - Muse: Uprising
10- Little Boots: Remedy

Susan Boyle's cover of the Rolling Stones' "White Horses"

So the whole Susan Boyle phenomenon has come and gone and now is coming again. For all those hoping she would rock out or put a donk on it, disappointment awaits in the clip below. For everyone else, this is a nicely understated cover of a Stones tune that will undoubtedly help the album to diamond status or something ridiculous like that.

The album's out November 23 on Sony...will you be buying it?